Sunday, September 20, 2009

Atherton: The House of Power (Book One) by Patrick Carman

Patrick Carman has written an action-packed adventure set in Atherton, a world created by mad scientist Dr. Harding, otherwise known as Max. Edgar lives in TableTop, the middle land of the three levels of Atherton, home of the labourer and land of The Grove, The Village of Sheep, and The Village of Rabbits, all of which provide The Highlands with food. The Highlands are run by evil Lord Phineus, who controls the water supply for all of Atherton. When The Highlands begin to sink into TableTop, and TableTop begins to sink into the FlatLands (home of the carnivorous Cleaners), it's up to Edgar and his friend Isabel to save the planet. The cliffhanger ending will leave you wanting more - check out the sequel, Rivers of Fire, and the third book in the series, The Dark Planet. With references to Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and Henry James' The Turn of the Screw, Patrick Carmen has written a literary page turner that will appeal to fans of both Christopher Paolini, Cornelia Funke, and anyone who loves adventure-sci-fi.